Oh No, she is Cooking Again!

For the past few weeks my schedule has been a bit crazy with vacations.  And you know how it is, before the vacation you have “pre-vaca” madness then your on the vacation and after the vacation there is the “catch-up” madness.  After we had a minor lapse this weekend, Hubs and I are getting back on track this week and eating more meals at home.

Friends have been asking what types of meals I cook since they know I’m always crazy busy.  My answer to them is that I have a few staple-item dinners that I most always have all the ingredients for plus a few others that I like to try from the Betty Crocker website.  In this blog you will find a few easy recipes that Hubs and I eat pretty regularly.  I’m ALWAYS looking for the fast prep meals so if you have any to share, that would be wonderful.

All recipes below may have been altered from the original and I’m sure you will find other creative ways to make them a family-friendly food in your house too.

The Famous Taco Pie (Thanks to my mom for this one)

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 packet of Kroger brand low-sodium taco seasoning
  • 1 package of Kroger brand reduced fat crescent roll
  • 1 cup of Kroger brand reduced fat sour cream
  • Approx. 1-1/2 cups of Kroger brand Mexican style cheese
  • Approx. 1/2 cup crushed tortillas (I save them from the bottoms of tortilla chips bags or left over tortilla chips)
  • 1 pie plate

Cranck up the oven to 350 degrees to preheat while you are browning your ground turkey.  Once turkey is browned add the packet of seasoning and then let is simmer.  Press your crescent roll into your pie plate covering the plate in full.  Add a few crunched up tortilla chips to the bottom of the pie dish then go ahead and pour your meat on top.  Once your meat is in the pie, spread your one cup sour cream then top it off with the cheese.  Let it cook for about 25 minutes until cheese starts to brown!

Baked Ziti (Thanks to Kat for this one)

  • 1 box Penne Pasta – I use the Smart Pasta brand
  • 1 jar of spaghetti sauce – I use the meat flavor
  • 1 bag of Kroger brand mozzarella cheese
  • 9 x 13 pan

Cranck up your oven to 350 degrees to preheat.  Add your box of pasta to the pan, then dump your jar of sauce over the pasta.  Take your jar and fill it up with water then dump that over the pasta and sauce.  Mix it up a bit then cover the whole pan with foil.  Put it in the oven for 30 minutes.  Then add cheese and recover with foil for 10 more minutes.

*sometimes I add either ground turkey or turkey sausage to the recipe (I cook the meat then add)

Easy Cheesy Chicken (Modified but thanks to the Betty Crocker Website)

  • 1 lb boneless chicken breasts cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1 pkg. Kroger brand Shells & Cheese Dinner
  • 1 cup milk (I use skim)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup broccoli florets

Cook chicken in a large skillet sprayed with cooking spray until done.  Then add the shells, milk and water and mix it up.  Bring it all to a boil then cover.  Keep on simmer, covered for about 10 minutes.  You can add your broccoli (I add mine to my portion only) and cook it in for 5 minutes uncovered.  Then stir in the cheese sauce.

I hope you enjoy these three fast prep easy meals, don’t forget to share some with me!  P.S. My husband is picky!

3 responses to “Oh No, she is Cooking Again!

  1. monkeetrouble7

    The baked ziti sounds so easy and good! I may have to try that!

  2. Taco Pie rocks my freaking World!

  3. @monkeetrouble7 did you get a chance to try the ziti?

Leave a Reply

