I dance when I love what I eat

It is totally true, I do a little dance when I’m enjoying something that I’m eating.  You can always tell when I REALLY love the food I’m eating because I get jiggy with it in my seat and sort of do a happy dance about the food. Yes, I know this is a bit odd but I just really enjoy good food.  Back to my dance, I did this quite a few times while tasting at Cafe Bella in Mason, OH with the Cincinnati Taste Casting Team.  Cafe Bella is a unique restaurant in that it is Mediterranean inspired food nestled in the suburbs of Mason, Ohio.  Bella herself had the dream to open her own restaurant and was able to achieve that dream when she opened Cafe Bella in February of 2008.  Since opening in 2008 she has brought on Chef Ben who has inspired a recently new menu.

Our CincyTasteCast Menu:

Bella’s Hummus with Warm Pita served with Pan Seared Scallop Sweet Corn Bisque Leeks & Shitake Mushrooms

Sherri's suprise party and Cincytastecast 023

An appetizer at Cafe Bella

I have to admit that I absolutely, positively, without a doubt obsess over hummus.  I can eat hummus on almost anything and be a happy girl so I was really excited to try another hummus.  I was so impressed, my wierd side was telling me that once I finished using the hummus on the pita bread to just go ahead and lick it off the plate.  Of course, my bestie Kendra who was sitting next to me might have laughed but the others at the table would have not appreciated it at all.

Pan Seared Scallop Sweet Corn Bisque Braised Leeks & Shitake Mushrooms

Pan Seared Scallop Sweet Corn Bisque Braised Leeks & Shitake Mushrooms

Moving on to the scallops.  I was wondering if I have ever had scallops before and I vaguely remember trying them at my in-laws but couldn’t remember if I liked them or not.  Either way, I gave it a go and it was surprisingly good.  Not too fishy and it had a light taste.  Nice start to the tasting!

Baby Fennel Salad with Mushrooms and Parmesan Lemon Basil Vinaigrette

Light and Fresh

Light and Fresh

Pistachio Salmon Mediterranean Couscous with Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

I did a lot of dancing to this one!

I did a lot of dancing to this one!

I’m not one that will order the salmon on the menu if there is a steak option as well.  I’ll typically order the filet mignon or another “beefy” food and pretty much avoid ordering the fish.  I keep thinking that if I order the fish that 1. it won’t fill me up, 2. it will taste too “fishy” 3. if I don’t like it then I’ve wasted a good meal and I’ll keep thinking about how I should have gone down the beef path.  Not in this case at all.  The Pistachio Salmon was my absolute favorite (yes, even over the hummus) of the tasting.  I kept taking the smallest bites so that I could savor the flavor and enjoy my salmon till the last bit was gone.  The combination of the Pistachio Salmon served on Mediterranean Couscous was a great mix of flavors.  The couscous was spicey and I enjoyed the pine nuts with the Orange Cumin Vinaigrette.  You guessed it right, I was doing lots of dancing in my seat as I was tasting this one!

Caribbean Spiced Beef New Potato’s with Roasted Red Pepper Coulis

Sherri's suprise party and Cincytastecast 028

Great spice flavor

House Made Tiramisu

Holy Rum Batman!

Holy Rum Batman!

WOW, this little number almost knocked me on my booty!  Don’t let these little Lady Fingers in the tiramisu fool you, they were soaked in dark rum and boy will that hit you.  The presentation with the House Made Tiramisu (and all the other food too) was excellent, I proabably took three pictures of it because I thought it looked so pretty.  I was really sad when the tiramisu came out because I knew this was our last food to taste at Cafe Bella.

Open for Lunch too!

Cafe Bella is also open for Lunch!  Bella herself let me snag a lunch menu and at first glance I can say that the prices aren’t scary and the food choices would be a great break up from your normal Chipotle lunch.  Here is something to make your mouth water — Grilled Three Cheese!  This isn’t your Grandma’s grilled cheese sandwich, this is made with feta, goat, and mozzarella cheeses with pesto, fresh tomato, and caramelized onions.  You know about the B.L.T. but have you had the B.L.A.T.?  What do you think the “A” is?  How about marinated artichokes!

I can’t wait to hear about your first experience at Cafe Bella, drop me a line and let me know what you thought!

*Note – The TasteCasting Team Members are not professional food critics. TasteCasting combines socially networked people and the social media platforms and applications they use to help establishments build awareness, announce grand openings, introduce new menu items, distribute special offers and encourage people to visit the establishment.

Leave a Reply

