New at Findlay Market – World Food Bar

Members of Cincy Tastecasting Team

Members of Cincy Tastecasting Team

Being a member on the Cincy Tastecasting Team has a lot of perks including the most important of tasting delicious food from our very own city.  This past week the team gathered at Sawyer Point to try out a lunch meal from World Food Bar.  World Food Bar is a new creation by a Cincinnati native, chef Joshua Campbell, located in the historic Findlay Market.  The atmosphere of trying this new eclectic food on the picnic benches of Sawyer Point was just cool.   The Q102 Bud Party crew was setting up for the Wednesday night Party in the Park and the forecast was a bit cloudy and the temperature was low – absolutely perfect weather for a tasting!

Each member was given a menu and the choice to pick from the “Boxed Lunch” section which can be viewed here

For $9.50 you were to select 1 choice from either the sandwiches, satays or take out salads.  1 choice from sides/deli salads.  1 choice from desserts.  Plus all boxed lunches came with either a bottled water, thai tea or soda.  I must also mention that there is free delivery in the city of Cincinnati – you will want to call Chef Joshua at World Food Bar for the details 513-342-1968.

My lunch

My Lunch - Read below for all the YUMMY details!

My Lunch - Read below for all the YUMMY details!

 100_2410

I chose the sandwich over the satay and salad – my sandwich was the slow roasted lamb on toasted flat bread with fresh tomato, arugula, and lemon cucumber yogurt sauce sandwich.  The lemon in the yogurt sauce was extremley noticeable making this a light and fresh choice that would be tasty for any summer day. 

My side was the hummus – I have to admit this was the most excellent choice because the portion World Food Bar gives you for a boxed lunch was HUGE!  Check out the picture above, honestly you are given a grocery store sized container.  I was able to use the extra pita bread given to me to dip in the hummus and I actually put a little on my lamb sandwich too.  I still can’t believe the portion of the hummus, this has honestly been a side dish that keeps giving this week for all my snack craves.

I chose the Ancho Chili Chocolate Brownies – The dessert choices were pretty tough to choose from but out of all my choices this was my absolute best of the day!  The brownies were so chewy and chocolatey and had the best “finger-licking” icing.  I actually shared my brownie with Krista Neher for a few reasons; 1. I’m just that nice 2. The portion was ginormous and was easily shared (for those of you who know me I don’t normally like to share) 3. I wanted someone else to experience the delicousness that I was experiencing 4. And maybe I also wanted someone else to take the brownie away from me so I wouldn’t eat the whole thing…..how many Weight Watcher points do you think that was?

Last choice was the drink – I was intrigued by the Thai Tea and decided to give that a whirl.  Honestly, I thought it had a unique taste and I can’t quite put my finger on the actual flavor.  Just having a taste at Essencha in Oakley I’m more in-tune with my “tea” side but this was a flavor unlike any other. 

All in all I’d say that the World Food Bar is an experience that you just have to try out for the sake of doing something different.  I come from a family that is into fries and burgers and most of the local restaurants in the upper suburbs of Cincinnati so my taste buds do a little wiggle when I try something out of the box, and this was certainly out of the box.  Next time you are in Findlay Market I would suggest you pop in to say “Hi” to Chef Joshua and try out his new creations or you can check them out online http://www.worldfoodbar.com/

 

*Note – The TasteCasting Team Members are not professional food critics. TasteCasting combines socially networked people and the social media platforms and applications they use to help establishments build awareness, announce grand openings, introduce new menu items, distribute special offers and encourage people to visit the establishment.
Leave a Reply

